Dyfed Powys Local Medical Committee (LMC) is a body of General Practitioners who are elected by their peers to represent the views of General Practice in the Hywel Dda and Powys LHB areas.

The LMC has a number of key roles on behalf of GPs and Practices: 

  • To liaise with the two Health Boards in the Dyfed Powys LMC area on the administration of the GP Contract.
  • To represent the views of GPs in area on general practice and health service issues.
  • To provide GPs and practices with advice and information.
  • The LMC is also involved in the Complaints, Poor Performance and Disciplinary procedures to support GPs and to ensure that the process is fair for all concerned.

Dyfed Powys LMC elects its 45 GP members every three years and it also co-opts Members (including Practice Managers, Public Health Doctors and others as necessary).  The new LMC Committee was elected on 1st April 2011.

The LMC meets four times a year on the first Thursday of March, June, September and December, and all GPs from the LMC area are welcome to attend as observers at these meetings. Submission of items and issues for consideration at LMC meetings are always welcomed
The work of the LMC is funded via a statutory levy that is payable by all Practices. The LMC also contributes to the wider activities of the General Practitioners Committee for Wales and for the UK who are responsible for negotiating contractual matters with the relevant governments.


The current officers of the LMC are

Chairman and Pastoral Support Lead - Dr Owen Cox

Vice-Chairman - Dr Heather Evans

Med Secretary - Dr Peter Horvath-Howard

LHB Liaison Officers - Dr Heather Evans (Carm); Dr Laurence Williams (Pembs); Dr Doug Paton (Powys) and Dr Dylan Williams (Cered)